Who Will Win ALMS

It is the final season for the American Le Mans Series. Founded in 1999, the series has had a storied and exciting past, but in 2014 it will merge with the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series to form the United Sports Car Racing Series.  The champions crowned by ALMS at the end of the 2013 series will be the last.  Everyone wonders, who those winners will be.   Below is a look at the championship races in all categories.

muscle milk driver klaus grafP1

The team championship for the P1 class has already been locked up.  Muscle Milk Pickett Racing has earned enough points to secure a repeat championship. Muscle Milk teammates Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr have also repeated as champions in the drivers competition. The remaining two races of the season will likely only increase their point leads.


Over in the P2 … Read the rest

12 Hours at Sebring

The race that will start off this year’s American Le Mans series is, of course, the 61st Mobil 1 Twelve Hours at Sebring.  Aside from taking place on an extremely beautiful track with exceptionally beautiful cars, Sebring has a special place in American motorsport history.

Located in Sebring, Florida, the raceway saw it’s first race in 1950, and remains the oldest continuously operating racetrack in the country.  From the beginning, it was designed for endurance races—so much so that the first event there was a 6 hour endurance run; it was only two years later that the first 12 Hours of Sebring was held.  The 12 hour event has been held continuously since 1952, with the exception of 1974, on account of the energy crisis.  Since it’s conception, it has held a keynote position in many series, including American … Read the rest

The American Le Mans Series

If you’re familiar with auto racing, then you’re probably familiar with the 24 Hours at Le Mans, a 24 hour long endurance race that sees many competitors, cars, and impressive racing.  The prospect of traveling all the way to France isn’t always an attractive one, but luckily, there is something a little closer to home: the American Le Mans series.

Le MansIntroduced in 1998, the series was meant to follow its European counterpart in spirit, with races that last anywhere from 2 to 12 hours, on tracks all throughout the US and Canada.  The series started with 8 races, but soon expanded to 12, including Sebring and Las Vegas, and even Long Beach, CA.  It was created under the title, “Petit Le Mans” by the enterprising Don Panoz, in partnership with Automobile Club de L’Oust (ACO), which organizes the actual 24 … Read the rest